How to Launch a Successful PPC Campaign for Beginners

What does a PPC campaign involve? It is a paid campaign that supports business advertising initiatives and digital marketing efforts. A PPC campaign helps roll out a new marketing campaign, promote a product release or both. It allows businesses to reach out to new audiences and compete on a broader scale. PPC, also known as pay-per-click advertising. This type of paid marketing model requires marketers to pay a fee every time users click on an ad. Pay-per-click marketing essentially helps you' buy' customers by enticing them to visit your website through relevant, targeted ads. These ads usually exist on paid platforms or search engine results and appear when someone searches for appropriate phrases or keywords.

So, a PPC campaign is not a one-time marketing effort. However, it provides tons of benefits if you can track and measure it appropriately. You can check its performance by looking at various metrics such as conversions, clicks, impressions, and much more. It also includes your ad's performance on multiple device types and locations. If you want to succeed in the digital advertising realm, you have to launch a PPC campaign in the most proper way possible. Today, we will share a step-by-step guide to help you succeed in the paid advertising world.

Define Your Objectives An Do Some Research

If you don't have an end goal, your plan will never have any direction. The same is the case with a PPC campaign. You have to start and clarify the reasons for which you want to launch a PPC campaign. Is it to bring more users to your website? Sign up more subscribers to your email list? You have to define your objectives before actually spending on such a type of paid advertising effort. If you don't know what you wish to achieve with a PPC campaign, chances are it will not give you the return you expect.

Furthermore, before launching a PPC campaign, you also have to focus on your customer's tastes. You have to find out what people are searching for online. You can take the first steps and conduct keyword research. Focus on buying personas or conclude customer data. It will help you create a list of keywords you should focus on targeting.

Check Keyword Demand With Keyword Tools

Once you have a keyword list, your next task is to validate it. You can use a keyword checker to validate keywords you've compiled during your research through their cost-per-click search volumes, trends, competitive data. These tools also provide you with relevant keyword suggestions to expand your already existing keyword list.

You have to upload your keyword list into such a tool in the form of a text file or spreadsheet, and it will do the rest for you. It is a quick, easy, and low-cost method to validate your keyword list and provides you with valuable insights to help make your PPC campaign more effective. Also, remember that high-ranking keywords are highly competitive, while low-ranking keywords are less competitive. Choose wisely!

Organize Your PPC Keywords

Once you finish validating your keywords, now is time to act smartly and organize them according to your target audience. Taking a targeted approach will help you group related keywords together. The more relevant and more potent your keyword groups are, the easier it is to tweak them, measure their performance, or create more targeted ads. When creating keyword groups, always remember to keep the searcher's intent in mind.

For instance, a keyword such as 'dress' is a broad search term and has less purchase intent than a keyword such as 'summer party dress.' So, include a mix of both long-tail and short-tail keywords into your keyword groups to compensate for the searcher's intent.

Include Negative Keywords

Contrary to popular belief, you should always include negative keywords in your Ad copy. You might ask why? Aren't negative keywords useless, and shouldn't you avoid them? Well, there is a caveat to using them. By adding negative keywords to your ad copy, you will eventually filter out any unnecessary leads who search for similar keywords. These lead to impressions that lead to no click at all. It could weaken your ad's quality score, negatively impacting your cost-per-click and ad placement. By including negative keywords, you can look out for opportunities that aren't generating any clicks.   

Define Your Budget

You have to define a budget for paid advertising efforts because you have to pay when someone clicks on your ad. Ask yourself, can you afford to advertise a specific keyword? Before you go any further, you need to calculate if your PPC ads are converting. It is simple mathematics, people. You have to focus on the profit margin, conversion rates, conversions. It will help you define a maximum cost-per-conversion.

Let's Suppose, on every 2000 visits- There are 60 conversions. In such a case, the conversion rate is 3 percent. Earn a profit of 300 dollars from your customers on average, with a profit margin of 30 percent. Your maximum cost-per-conversion will be $300 * (1 – 0.30) * 3 percent= $6.3. You should avoid spending more than that.

Figure Out Your Competition

When you learn from your competitor's mistakes, you will have an excellent approach to avoid doing the same. Analyze market trends and your competitors to analyze your PPC campaign. Various competitive analysis tools, both paid and free, will help you help competitors running the same paid advertising or selling similar products and services.

Create A Better Ad Copy

Now that you've identified your competition and compiled a list of relevant keywords, the next step is to create a better ad copy. A well-drafted ad copy will affect your return on investment. Create an ad copy that has compelling headlines, descriptive lines and contains URLs to informative websites. Personalize your ad copy so that it speaks about your customer's requirements, wants, and needs. As paid adverts will offer you limited space, you have to do your best to make your copy as persuasive as possible.

Always Track Your PPC Campaign's Progress

It would be best never to take a 'launch and forget' approach with paid advertising. You always have to keep on your advertising efforts, be it a PPC campaign or any other type of digital marketing technique. Without monitoring metrics, you will never know where to adjust your strategy and what updates to make to your ad copy.


As mentioned above, you cannot simply launch your PPC campaign and pray it runs by itself. It is vital to monitor your paid ads continuously. Only then can you identify the ad's flaws and improvement opportunities. From your ad copy to competitor analysis to keyword selection, everything should be flexible enough to change with the changing marketing trends.

How to Launch a Successful PPC Campaign for Beginners How to Launch a Successful PPC Campaign for Beginners Reviewed by Pravesh Kumar Maurya on April 21, 2021 Rating: 5

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